产后脱发,被归类为“休止期脱发”, 是一个相当普遍的现象,会影响40%-50%分娩后的女性。休止期脱发往往发生在当身体系统产生较大的冲击,例如人身伤害,败血症,分娩,或者情感创伤,通常是暂时性并可以逆转的。(然而,脱发持续时间段可能会有不同,取决于创伤的原因和程度。)

产后脱发的原因

大多数女性会注意到在怀孕期间和产后,发质和发量有明显的差异。这是由于雌激素活性的变化影响了头发的生长周期。一个正常的头发生长周期是由“生长期”,“退行期”和“休止期”组成(1,2), 分别会持续3-5年,2周,和3-6个月(2,3)。在怀孕期间,高浓度的雌激素(4)延长了头发的生长期(1,5)。同时,母体血液循环显著上升,更多的营养输送到毛囊,也使新生发越发浓密(3)。这些因素共同作用,使得孕期的准妈妈大多都有一头浓密的秀发。

在分娩以后,身体慢慢调节恢复到正常水平,激素水平显著下降(4,6)。这就意味着,在怀孕期间保持的额外发量,都将按照原有的正常周期脱落。

这听起来很可怕,很多新手妈咪的头发密度将比怀孕前稀薄很多,在某些情况下,太阳穴的发际线将会后移,甚至会看到头皮。

在分娩后,脱发将会持续多久?

产后脱发通常在分娩后4个月左右达到高峰,通常会持续1-5个月(7)。然而,一些女性产后经历脱发持续一年(甚至两年)也不是不常见的,取决于很多因素 – 是否母乳,营养情况,睡眠质量,压力等等。

脱发与母乳

如果你母乳喂养,你的脱发状况可能需要更长的时间恢复到正常水平,因为微妙的荷尔蒙(雌激素和孕激素)平衡的变化。怀孕期间,雌激素水平升高(8,9),分娩后显著降低(6,9),同时催乳激素水平升高(9)来促进母体产奶,为母乳做准备。持续的母乳喂养将保持高浓度的催乳激素,同时对雌激素和孕酮有抑制效果,这个不平衡也会作用在抑制头发生长上(9,10)。当你停止母乳喂养后,雌激素和孕酮水平将会恢复正常水平,脱发状况也会相对稳定(9,10),如果没有其他因素影响到你的脱发。

脱发与营养

营养是母亲和婴儿健康的一个重要组成部分。不仅仅是在怀孕期间至关重要,在分娩后也很重要,因为此时身体处于修复和产奶阶段。缺少足够的维他命和矿物质会引发长期的脱发,因为身体供应到头发和指甲的营养是非常有限的。所以,在这段时期,需要增加营养的摄取来填补不足。

脱发与压力

压力被认为是产后脱发的另外一个重要因素。作为一个新手妈妈,压力会是一个不可避免的事实, 尤其是当你的宝宝晚上不睡,你总是要在夜晚照顾,经历糟糕的睡眠质量。

在当今社会,压力是相当普遍的现象,影响到所有年龄层和背景的人群。复合压力会导致皮质醇水平升高, 这可能会抑制对健康头发生长所需的荷尔蒙的正常生产。

产后脱发治疗

一般来说,产后脱发的状况会在6-12月左右逐渐得到缓和,然而在某些状况下也可持续更久,例如母乳喂养的时间长短,压力,缺少睡眠,营养摄取不足,你是否在分娩前就遭受脱发的困扰等等。

对于产后脱发治疗,如果你头发的密度没有恢复到怀孕前,或者产后遭受持续性的脱发,我们有丰富的治疗经验。如果你想让你的产后脱发得到控制,现在就联系我们,预约微观头发检查吧!

References

  1. Hu H-m, Zhang S-b, Lei X-h, et al. Estrogen leads to reversible hair cycle retardation through inducing premature catagen and maintaining telogen. PloS one.2012;7(7):e40124. http://journals.plos.org/plosone/article?id=10.1371/journal.pone.0040124
  2. Stenn KS. Molecular insights into the hair follicle and its pathology: a review of recent developments. International Journal of Dermatology. 2003;42(1):40-43. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12581142
  3. Nissimov J, Elchalal U. Scalp hair diameter increases during pregnancy. Clinical and experimental dermatology. 2003;28(5):525-530. http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1046/j.1365-2230.2003.01331.x/full
  4. Montelongo A, Lasunción MA, Pallardo LF, Herrera E. Longitudinal study of plasma lipoproteins and hormones during pregnancy in normal and diabetic women. Diabetes. 1992;41(12):1651-1659. http://diabetes.diabetesjournals.org/content/41/12/1651
  5. Ohnemus U, Uenalan M, Inzunza J, Gustafsson J-Ak, Paus R. The hair follicle as an estrogen target and source. Endocrine reviews. 2006;27(6):677-706. https://academic.oup.com/edrv/article/27/6/677/2355194
  6. Buckwalter JG, Stanczyk FZ, McCleary CA, et al. Pregnancy, the postpartum, and steroid hormones: effects on cognition and mood. Psychoneuroendocrinology. 1999;24(1):69-84. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/10098220
  7. SCHIFF BL, KERN AB. Study of postpartum alopecia. Archives of dermatology. 1963;87(5):609-611. https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jamadermatology/article-abstract/527997
  8. Wuu J, Hellerstein S, Lipworth L, et al. Correlates of pregnancy oestrogen, progesterone and sex hormone-binding globulin in the USA and China. European journal of cancer prevention. 2002;11(3):283-293. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12131662
  9. Bonnar J, Franklin M, Nott P, McNeilly A. Effect of breast-feeding on pituitary-ovarian function after childbirth. Br Med J. 1975;4(5988):82-84. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1674910/pdf/brmedj01468-0026.pdf
  10. Dorrington J, Gore-Langton RE. Prolactin inhibits oestrogen synthesis in the ovary. Nature. 1981;290(5807):600-602. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/6783964
  11. Leproult R, Copinschi G, Buxton O, Van Cauter E. Sleep loss results in an elevation of cortisol levels the next evening. Sleep. 1997;20(10):865-870. https://watermark.silverchair.com/sleep-20-10-865.pdf
  12. Miller GE, Chen E, Zhou ES. If it goes up, must it come down? Chronic stress and the hypothalamic-pituitary-adrenocortical axis in humans. American Psychological Association; 2007. https://cpb-us-e1.wpmucdn.com/sites.northwestern.edu
  13. Meerlo P, Sgoifo A, Suchecki D. Restricted and disrupted sleep: effects on autonomic function, neuroendocrine stress systems, and stress responsivity. Sleep medicine reviews. 2008;12(3):197-210. http://www.smrv-journal.com/article/S1087-0792(07)00098-6/fulltext

Postpartum hair loss, classed as ‘telogen effluvium’, is a fairly common phenomenon that is estimated to affect between 40-50% of women after giving birth. As telogen effluvium-type hair loss typically occurs in response to some systemic shock, such as physical injury, sepsis, childbirth or emotional trauma, it is generally temporary in nature and can be reversed (although the timeframe of this may vary depending on the causes and extent of the trauma).

Causes of Postnatal Hair Loss

Most women will notice a marked difference in hair quality during pregnancy versus post-parturition. This is due to changes in female hormone activity that affect the hair cycle. A normal hair cycle consists of the anagen ‘growing’ phase, the ‘transitional’ catagen phase and the final ‘resting/shedding’ telogen phase(1,2), with these lasting an average of 3-5 years, 2 weeks and 3-6 months, respectively(2,3). During pregnancy, elevated levels of oestrogen(4) prematurely push the hair follicles into catagen and the early ‘resting’ stage of telogen for an extended period of time(1,5). This means the hair does not fall out as per normal. Significant increases in circulating maternal blood volume also result in thickening of new hair due(3) to increased nutrient delivery to the hair follicles. This combination of factors gives the impression of a fuller, thicker head of hair during pregnancy.

After childbirth however, there is a significant drop in hormone levels(4,6) as the body slowly
regulates back to normal levels. This means that all the extra hair that was kept on the head during
pregnancy (beyond its original lifespan) will now fall out as the normal hair cycle resumes.

This can seem scary, as for some women the hair may thin beyond your pre-pregnancy density or, in some cases, recede slightly at the temples, or even show glimpses of the scalp.

How Long Does Hair Loss Last After Having a Baby?

Postpartum hair loss commonly peaks around four months following childbirth and tends to last between 1-5 months(7), although it is not uncommon for women to experience hair loss up to one year (or even two years) after giving birth, depending on various factors such as whether they are breastfeeding, the quality of their nutrition, sleeping patterns, stress, and more.

Hair Loss and Breastfeeding

If you are breastfeeding, your hair loss may take a little longer to settle back to normal levels due to changes in the delicate balance of hormones such as oestrogen and progesterone. Oestrogen is high during pregnancy(8,9), but its levels drop after birth(6,9), while prolactin hormone increases(9) to stimulate milk production in preparation for breastfeeding. Continued breastfeeding will maintain high prolactin concentrations and suppress oestrogen and progesterone, and this imbalance in turn will suppress hair growth(9,10). Once you stop breastfeeding, oestrogen and progesterone levels should start to regulate again and hair loss should stabilise(9,10), provided there are no other factors contributing to your hair loss.

Hair Loss and Nutrition

Nutrition is an important component in the wellbeing of mother and baby. It is crucial not only during pregnancy, but also after birth as the body goes through the process of healing and milk production. Lack of sufficient vitamins and minerals may contribute towards prolonged hair loss because the body prioritises delivery of limited nutrients to the organs over expendable traits such as the hair and nails. Increased intake of nutrients is therefore required to bridge this deficit.

Hair Loss and Stress

Stress is another factor recognised to play a major role in hair loss. As a new mother, stress may be an inescapable fact of life, particularly if your baby is not sleeping through the night or
you suffer from interrupted or poor quality sleep.

When the body is under stress, the adrenal glands produce and release cortisol. This is a steroid hormone that stimulates release of adrenaline, leading to the well-recognised ’fight-or-flight’ response. Studies have shown lack of sleep can increase cortisol production the following evening(11) – meaning it becomes harder to fall asleep when you are suffering from sleep deprivation because the body becomes alert.

In modern society, stress is a fairly ubiquitous phenomenon that affects people of all ages and backgrounds. Compounding of stress can lead to sustained high cortisol levels, which may suppress production of other hormones required for healthy hair growth. Over an extended period of time, overproduction of cortisol may eventually tire out the adrenal glands and result in the system underproducing cortisol and other hormones(12), which may again lead to hair loss. Long-term stress is also associated with various other health conditions(12,13) such as an impaired immune response, impaired cognitive function, slower metabolism and decreased cell generation.

Postpartum hair loss treatment

Generally speaking, postpartum hair loss should gradually resolve within 6-12 months, although it can take longer depending on factors such as duration of breastfeeding, stress, lack of sleep, poor nutrition, whether you suffered from hair loss before giving birth, and more.

We have ample experience treating women with postpartum hair loss as well as women who reportedly did not have any issues prior to giving birth, but whose hair did not return to its pre-pregnancy thickness or who suffered from lingering hair loss some years later.

If you need help getting your postpartum hair loss under control, talk to us or book a microscopic hair consultation now.
We are here to help you.

References

  1. Hu H-m, Zhang S-b, Lei X-h, et al. Estrogen leads to reversible hair cycle retardation through inducing premature catagen and maintaining telogen. PloS one.2012;7(7):e40124. http://journals.plos.org/plosone/article?id=10.1371/journal.pone.0040124
  2. Stenn KS. Molecular insights into the hair follicle and its pathology: a review of recent developments. International Journal of Dermatology. 2003;42(1):40-43. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12581142
  3. Nissimov J, Elchalal U. Scalp hair diameter increases during pregnancy. Clinical and experimental dermatology. 2003;28(5):525-530. http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1046/j.1365-2230.2003.01331.x/full
  4. Montelongo A, Lasunción MA, Pallardo LF, Herrera E. Longitudinal study of plasma lipoproteins and hormones during pregnancy in normal and diabetic women. Diabetes. 1992;41(12):1651-1659. http://diabetes.diabetesjournals.org/content/41/12/1651
  5. Ohnemus U, Uenalan M, Inzunza J, Gustafsson J-Ak, Paus R. The hair follicle as an estrogen target and source. Endocrine reviews. 2006;27(6):677-706. https://academic.oup.com/edrv/article/27/6/677/2355194
  6. Buckwalter JG, Stanczyk FZ, McCleary CA, et al. Pregnancy, the postpartum, and steroid hormones: effects on cognition and mood. Psychoneuroendocrinology. 1999;24(1):69-84. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/10098220
  7. SCHIFF BL, KERN AB. Study of postpartum alopecia. Archives of dermatology. 1963;87(5):609-611. https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jamadermatology/article-abstract/527997
  8. Wuu J, Hellerstein S, Lipworth L, et al. Correlates of pregnancy oestrogen, progesterone and sex hormone-binding globulin in the USA and China. European journal of cancer prevention. 2002;11(3):283-293. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12131662
  9. Bonnar J, Franklin M, Nott P, McNeilly A. Effect of breast-feeding on pituitary-ovarian function after childbirth. Br Med J. 1975;4(5988):82-84. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1674910/pdf/brmedj01468-0026.pdf
  10. Dorrington J, Gore-Langton RE. Prolactin inhibits oestrogen synthesis in the ovary. Nature. 1981;290(5807):600-602. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/6783964
  11. Leproult R, Copinschi G, Buxton O, Van Cauter E. Sleep loss results in an elevation of cortisol levels the next evening. Sleep. 1997;20(10):865-870. https://watermark.silverchair.com/sleep-20-10-865.pdf
  12. Miller GE, Chen E, Zhou ES. If it goes up, must it come down? Chronic stress and the hypothalamic-pituitary-adrenocortical axis in humans. American Psychological Association; 2007. https://cpb-us-e1.wpmucdn.com/sites.northwestern.edu
  13. Meerlo P, Sgoifo A, Suchecki D. Restricted and disrupted sleep: effects on autonomic function, neuroendocrine stress systems, and stress responsivity. Sleep medicine reviews. 2008;12(3):197-210. http://www.smrv-journal.com/article/S1087-0792(07)00098-6/fulltext